Who are the nuclear weapon States?

The five nuclear weapon States, thus defined under the 1968 Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty since they all conducted nuclear tests before 1968, are: China, France, the Soviet Union/Russian Federation, the United Kingdom and the United States. The United States was the first country to commence testing in 1945. The former Soviet Union was second to test in 1949; the United Kingdom was third in 1952; France was fourth in 1960 and China fifth in 1964.

View all FAQs