When did the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty open for signature?

The CTBT was opened for signature on 24 September 1996. Following the United States, the remaining four nuclear weapon states, China, France, the United Kingdom and the Russian Federation all signed the Treaty that same day in New York. By the end of the day, another 66 States had signed the Treaty and taken the first steps towards making the full commitment never to conduct nuclear tests of any kind on Earth. Thus, in September 1996, the CTBT began its long journey towards becoming a globe spanning, legally binding Treaty.

View all FAQs