If a state signs but does not ratify the Treaty, what are they legally bound to?

Under Article 18 of the 1969 Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties, signatory States have an obligation to desist from any acts which would defeat the objective and purpose of the treaty that they have signed.

View all FAQs