When will the Treaty enter into force?

The Treaty will enter into force 180 days after all 44 of the States mentioned in Annex 2 of the Treaty have ratified it. These States at the time of the opening for signature of the Treaty in 1996 possessed nuclear weapons or nuclear weapons technology.

To see who these states are, and whether they have ratified the Treaty, please click here.

View all FAQs