What are the working and official languages of the CTBTO?

The working language of the CTBTO is English, while the official languages are Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish, just as in the United Nations. The working language means that the daily work of the CTBTO are performed in English while reference to the official languages means that formal proceedings are conducted in all those languages and that the Treaty and other key documents are available or will be provided in all those languages as well.

View all FAQs