Zangger Committee

This group of 36 nuclear exporting states was established in 1971 with the purpose to maintain a "trigger list" of (1) source of special fissionable materials, and (2) equipment or materials especially designed or prepared for the processing, use, or production of special fissionable materials. Additionally the committee has identified certain dual-use technologies as requiring safeguarding when they are supplied to non-nuclear weapon states to be used for nuclear purposes. These include explosives, centrifuge components, and special materials. The Zangger Committee, named after its first chairman Claude Zangger of Switzerland, is an informal arrangement and its decisions are not legally binding upon its members. As of 2008 there were 36 members of the Zangger Committee: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, People's Republic of China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom and the United States.

Zone of application

The zone of application of a nuclear-weapon-free zone generally means the whole of the "territories" of the contracting parties within the defined region. Defining where the zone is applicable has often been a subject of difficult negotiations.

Zone of Peace, Freedom and Neutrality (ZOPFAN)

In November 1971, foreign ministers from ASEAN member states—Brunei Darussalem, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and VietNam—met and adopted the "ZOPFAN vision" in the Kuala Lumpur Declaration to establish the Zone of Peace, Freedom and Neutrality in Southeast Asia. The declaration states that ASEAN nations "are determined to exert initially necessary efforts to secure the recognition of, and respect for, Southeast Asia as a zone of peace, freedom and neutrality, free from any form or manner of interference by outside Powers”.