Nuclear Testing 1945 - today

Page 6: Nuclear Testing: 1945-2009

Moratoria on nuclear testing

In 1990, the Soviet Union proposed a moratorium on nuclear testing that was agreed to by the United Kingdom and the United States. This created an opportunity to move ahead for those advocates who, for decades, had promoted a comprehensive ban on all nuclear testing.

Some six nuclear tests were conducted between
1998 and 2009: two by India and two by Pakistan in 1998,
one by the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea in 2006
and another one by the DPRK in 2009.

The Soviet Union’s last nuclear test took place on 24 October 1990; the United Kingdom’s on 26 November 1991 and the United States’ ("Divider") on 23 September 1992. France and China conducted their last tests in January and July 1996 respectively, before signing the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty on the day it opened for signature, 24 September 1996, together with the other three nuclear weapon States and 66 other countries. France closed and dismantled all its nuclear test sites in the 1990s – the only nuclear weapon State to date that has done so.