Media Advisory - Press Briefing: President of Burkina Faso & CTBTO Executive Secretary-elect, 13 June 2013

Vienna 11 June 2013

During the visit by the President of Burkina Faso, Blaise Compaoré, to the CTBTO’s Vienna headquarters on 13 June 2013, the following media opportunities are available:
12:10 -12:30   Press Briefing with the President and Executive Secretary-elect
Venue:   C-0441, C-building, 4th Floor in the Vienna International Centre (VIC). 

President Compaoré and CTBTO Executive Secretary-elect, Lassina Zerbo, will brief the media on relations between the CTBTO and Burkina Faso and Africa as a whole. Dr. Zerbo is a national of Burkina Faso who has served as Director of the CTBTO’s International Data Centre since 2004. He will take over the leadership of the CTBTO on 1 August 2013 from outgoing Executive Secretary Tibor Tóth. (Read more) The President will also be ready to answer questions about his mediation efforts in West Africa, in particular Mali.

10:30 – 11:40  The Preparatory Commission Fortieth Session 
Venue: Conference Room C, 4th Floor, C Building in the VIC. 

President Compaoré will address the CTBTO’s Executive Body at the opening of the Preparatory Commission’s Fortieth Session.  The meeting is normally closed to the media.  However, on this occasion, Press are permitted to cover the President’s speech, the symbolic handover of the CTBTO’s leadership, and a statement by Dr. Zerbo.
09:30   Official Photo Opportunity: 
Venue: E-0665, E Building, 6th Floor, CTBTO’s Operations Centre, in the VIC

There will be a photo opportunity with President Campaoré, his Minister for Foreign Affairs, Yipènè Djibril Bassolé, Burkina Faso’s Ambassador to Austria, Paul Robert Tiendrebeogo, together with Tibor Tóth and Lassina Zerbo from the CTBTO.

To register to attend, please send your request to:
Pablo Mehlhorn, CTBTO Public Information
tel: +43-1-26030-6451

Journalists with permanent accreditation to the VIC need no further credentials. All others must also include in their request that they require accreditation.

You are required to bring a valid press ID card.


The CTBT bans all nuclear explosions. The CTBTO is building a verification regime to ensure that no nuclear explosions will go undetected: over 85 percent of the facilities that monitor the world for any sign of a nuclear explosion are already in place.
To date, 183 States have signed the Treaty and 159 have also ratified it, see map. However, eight nuclear holding countries must ratify the Treaty before it can enter into force. They are China, Egypt, Iran, Israel and the United States, which have already signed the CTBT, and the Democratic People's Republic of Korea, India and Pakistan, which have yet to sign and ratify.


For further information on the CTBT, please see – your resource on ending nuclear testing,
or contact:

Annika Thunborg,
Spokesperson and Chief of Public Information

T    +43 1 26030-6375 
M    +43 699 1459 6375      

Connect with CTBTO on facebook, twitter, flickr and  youtube.