Media Advisory - Group of Eminent Persons gathers in Hiroshima to advance nuclear test-ban

Vienna, 19 August 2015

Japanese version here.

The Group of Eminent Persons (GEM) is a high-level group comprising eminent personalities and internationally recognized experts whose aim is to promote the global ban on nuclear weapons testing, support and complement efforts to promote the Treaty’s entry into force as well as reinvigorating international endeavours to achieve this goal. Its members will meet in Hiroshima, Japan, from 24 to 25 August 2015 to discuss on how to promote the entry into force of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT).

 Media Opportunities

  • Photo and interview opportunity at the opening session of the meeting, 24 August 2015, 10:00 - 10:50, Venue: Hiroshima Grand Prince Hotel, Suite de Fleur, 23-1 Motoujinamachi, Minami Ward, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 734-0012, Japan. The entire session is open for media and collective photo for the participants (10:50), followed by individual interviews during a coffee break upon request. Registration required – see below.

  • Photo opportunity: Programme to Convey the Reality of the Atomic Bombing, 25 August 2015, 08:05-10:30, Venues: The Cenotaph for the A-bomb Victims, Peace Memorial Museum, International Conference Center Hiroshima (ICCH) – Registration not required.

  • Press conference on 25 August 2015 14:05 – 14:45, Venue: Hiroshima Grand Prince Hotel, Sea Shore meeting room. Registration required – see below.

  • For other interview opportunities: The Executive Secretary of the CTBTO, Lassina Zerbo, and members of the GEM may be available for interviews with the media upon request on 24 and 25 August 2015. Registration required – Contact: Ms Elisabeth Wächter,, M: +43 699 1459 6375.

  • Images and background information on the meeting will be made available via the CTBTO Newsroom.

Meeting Participants:

Lassina Zerbo, Executive Secretary of the CTBTO and the following members of the GEM shall participate in the Hiroshima meeting:

Nobuyasu Abe, former UN Under-Secretary-General for Disarmament Affairs, Japan

Des Browne, former Secretary of State for Defence, United Kingdom

Jayantha Dhanapala, former UN Under-Secretary-General for Disarmament Affairs

Sérgio Duarte, former UN High Representative for Disarmament Affairs, Brazil

Michel Duclos, Senior Counsellor to the Policy Planning Department at the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Wolfgang Hoffmann, former Executive Secretary of the CTBTO, Germany

Ho-Jin Lee, Ambassador, Republic of Korea

William Perry, former Secretary of Defence, United States

For the ex-officio members of the GEM:

István Mikola, Minister of State, Hungary

Yusron Ihza Mahendra, Ambassador of Indonesia to Japan

Mitsuru Kitano, Permanent Representative, Ambassador of Japan to the International Organization in Vienna

Yerzhan N Ashikbayev, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, the Republic of Kazakhstan

In-advance registration:

For those who seek to attend an opening session, press conference, and other interview opportunities, please kindly contact with the following points of contact and make sure that in-advance registration will be made by Friday August 21:


Mr Takuya Nishiuchi
Arms Control and Disarmament Division, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan
T: +81 3 5501 8000 (ext. 3998)

Ms Akiko Muramoto
Arms Control and Disarmament Division, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan
T: +81 3 5501 8000 (ext. 2997)

Ms Elisabeth Wächter
Chief, Public Information, CTBTO
T: +43 1 26030 6375   
M: +43 699 1459 6375


The CTBT bans all nuclear explosions, thus hampering both the initial development of nuclear weapons as well as significant enhancements (h-bomb). The Treaty also helps prevent damage caused by nuclear testing to humans and the environment.

The CTBT has so far been signed by 183 States and ratified by 164. Its entry-into-force formula prescribes that 44 particular “nuclear technology holder” States need to ratify for it to enter into force. Eight of them have yet to ratify: China, the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK), Egypt, India, Iran, Israel, Pakistan and the United States (the DPRK, India and Pakistan have also not yet signed the Treaty).

A verification regime to monitor the globe for nuclear explosions is nearing completion with around 90 percent of the 337 planned International Monitoring System facilities already in operation.

For further information on the CTBT, please see - your resource on ending nuclear testing, or contact:
Elisabeth Wächter,
Chief of Public Information

T    +43 1 26030-6375
E     Opens window for sending
M    +43 699 1459 6375