Media Advisory - Member States re-appoint Lassina Zerbo as CTBTO Head

Vienna, 8 November 2016

The Member States of the highest decision-making body of the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) today re-appointed Executive Secretary Lassina Zerbo to a further four year term of office, from 1 August 2017 to 31 July 2021.

Zerbo, from Burkina Faso, has served as CTBTO Executive Secretary since August 2013.  In his first term, Zerbo initiated high-level and proactive contacts with States as well as establishing the Group of Eminent Persons (GEM) , comprising internationally recognized personalities and experts, and the CTBTO Youth Group . Both groups are focused on promoting the Treaty’s entry into force and on reinvigorating international endeavours to achieve this goal. He also raised the profile of the Treaty, pushed for its universality and promoted the cooperation of the organization with its Member States.

Other achievements during his first term include the conduct of a large scale On-site Inspection Integrated Field Exercise in 2014 in Jordan, the implementation of the Enterprise Resource Planning project, the expansion of the coverage and increased resilience of the International Monitoring System, completion of phase 5a of the progressive commissioning of the International Data Centre and streamlining of the administrative, budgetary and financial processes and procedures of the Commission.

A geophysicist by profession Zerbo was Director of the CTBTO’s International Data Centre Division and has held academic positions in France and Canada, as well as managerial positions with international mining companies, including Anglo American. (Read more here.)

Background on the CTBT

The CTBT bans all nuclear explosions by everyone, everywhere: on the Earth’s surface, in the atmosphere, underwater and underground. 183 countries have signed the Treaty, of which 166 have also ratified it. Of the 44 countries that have to ratify the Treaty for entry into force, 36 have already done so. The remaining eight are: China, the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Egypt, India, Iran, Israel, Pakistan and the United States.

For further information on the CTBT, please see - your resource on ending nuclear testing, or contact:
Elisabeth Wächter,
Chief of Public Information
T    +43 1 26030-6375
M    +43 699 1459 6375