Ambassador Benno Laggner is a Swiss career diplomat. He is the Resident Representative of Switzerland to the IAEA, represents Switzerland as Governor on the IAEA Board of Governors and is the Permanent Representative of Switzerland to the CTBTO Preparatory Commission. He is also the current Chair of the CTBTO Preparatory Commission and the current Chair of the Missile Technology Control Regime (MTCR).

He was Co-President of the 2022 Conference of the Parties to the Amendment to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material and has served as Chair of the Hague Code of Conduct against Ballistic Missile Proliferation (HCoC) and Chair of the Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG). In previous assignments, Ambassador Laggner was Deputy Head of Delegation for Security Policy Issues at the Swiss Delegation to the OSCE, Head of the Division for Security Policy (Assistant State Secretary rank) at the Swiss Federal Department of Foreign Affairs in Bern with responsibility for arms control, disarmament, non-proliferation and international security, Swiss Sherpa for the 2014 and 2016 Nuclear Security Summits, Chair of Subsidiary Body I (Disarmament Matters) at the 2015 NPT Review Conference and Deputy Chef de Cabinet of the President of the 65th session of the UN General Assembly.