CTBT-Art.XIV/2023/CRP.1

Dist. PARTICIPANTS ONLY

22 September 2023

English only

Conference on Facilitating the Entry into Force of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty New York, 22 September 2023

CREDENTIALS OF REPRESENTATIVES TO THE CONFERENCE ON FACILITATING THE ENTRY INTO FORCE OF THE COMPREHENSIVE NUCLEAR-TEST-BAN TREATY

Draft Report of the Credentials Committee

- 1. At its first plenary meeting, on 22 September 2023, the Thirteenth Conference on Facilitating the Entry into Force of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (hereinafter called "the Conference"), in accordance with rule 4 of its rules of procedure, established a Credentials Committee and appointed as members of the Committee the representatives of the following five ratifying States: Burkina Faso, Costa Rica, Japan, the Philippines and Slovenia.
- 2. The Credentials Committee held its meeting on 22 September 2023.
- 3. Ms. Ana Avila, Minister Counsellor, Permanent Mission of Costa Rica to the United Nations, was unanimously elected Chairperson of the Committee. Ms Semra Turkovic of the Provisional Technical Secretariat of the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization served as Secretary of the Committee.
- 4. The Committee had before it a memorandum by the Secretariat of the Conference, dated 22 September 2023, concerning the credentials of representatives of States to the Conference.
- 5. As noted in paragraph 1 of the Secretariat's memorandum and the statement of the officer relating thereto, formal credentials in the form required by rule 3 of the rules of procedure of the Conference had, as of the time of the meeting of the Credentials Committee, been received by the Secretariat, in respect of their representatives to the Conference, from the following 39 States that, prior to the opening of the Conference, had deposited their instruments of ratification of the Treaty: Algeria, Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark,

Ecuador, El Salvador, France, Germany, Guatemala, Holy See, Honduras, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Mexico, Nigeria, Norway, Panama, the Philippines, the Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Türkiye, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

- 6. As noted in paragraph 2 of the Secretariat's memorandum, provisional credentials in the form of photocopies issued by the Head of State or Government or by the Minister for Foreign Affairs had, as of the time of the meeting of the Credentials Committee, been received by the Secretariat from the following 20 States that, prior to the opening of the Conference, had deposited their instruments of ratification of the Treaty: Armenia, Burkina Faso, Croatia, Indonesia, Japan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Liechtenstein, Malaysia, Monaco, New Zealand, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Republic of Korea, Romania, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Uruguay.
- 7. As noted in paragraph 3 of the Secretariat's memorandum, information concerning the appointment of their representatives to the Conference had, as of the time of the meeting of the Credentials Committee, been communicated to the Secretariat by means of a letter or note verbale thereof from a Permanent Mission or government office, by the following one State that, prior to the opening of the Conference, had deposited its instruments of ratification of the Treaty: Canada.
- 8. The Chairperson recommended that the Committee accept the credentials of the representatives of all of the States mentioned in paragraphs 5 to 6 above, on the understanding that formal credentials for representatives of the States referred to in paragraph 6 would be communicated to the Secretariat as soon as possible.
- 9. On the proposal of the Chairperson, the Committee adopted the following draft resolution:

"The Credentials Committee,

Having examined the credentials of the representatives to the Conference on Facilitating the Entry into Force of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty of the signatory States referred to in paragraphs 5 to 7 of its report,

Accepts the credentials of the representatives of the States concerned."

- 10. The draft resolution proposed by the Chairperson was adopted without a vote.
- 11. The Chairperson then proposed that the Committee recommend to the plenary of the Conference the adoption of a draft resolution (see paragraph 13). The proposal was adopted without a vote.
- 12. In light of the above, the present report is submitted to the Conference.

RECOMMENDATION OF THE CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE

13. The Credentials Committee recommends to the Conference the adoption of the following draft resolution:

"Credentials of representatives to the Conference on Facilitating the Entry into Force of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty held in New York, United States of America, on 22 September 2023

The Conference on Facilitating the Entry into Force of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty,

Having considered the report of the Credentials Committee and the recommendation contained therein,

Adopts the report of the Credentials Committee."