Entry into Force

Entry into Force

Article XIV of the Treaty notes that it will enter into force 180 days after the date of deposit of the instruments of ratification of the 44 States listed in Annex 2. These 44 States participated in the negotiations of the Treaty in 1996 and possessed nuclear power or research reactors at the time.

Several developments will take place once the Treaty enters into force.

Most importantly, it will be possible to use the CTBT verification regime for verification purposes.

There will also be organizational changes. First, the Preparatory Commission will cease to exist. In its place, the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) will be established. Second, Ratifying States will henceforth be known as States Parties. Third, the Provisional Technical Secretariat will also cease to exist and be replaced by a Technical Secretariat. Fourth, the Executive Secretary will be replaced by a Director-General.

Fifth, there will be a Review Conference every ten years after the Treaty’s entry into force to reassess its operation and effectiveness and to ascertain that its objectives and purposes are being upheld.

The Treaty will enter into force 180 days after the 44 States listed in Annex 2 ratify it. At that time, the Preparatory Commission will be dissolved and the CTBTO will be established.

Sixth, according to Article II, paragraph 9, of the Treaty, assessed contributions levied on States Parties will be levied according to the same criteria as before Entry into Force, but, unlike the pre-entry into force period, non-payment of assessed contributions may lead to loss of voting rights only if the arrears equal or exceed the amount of the contribution due from the country in question for the preceding two years and not after only 365 days as is currently the case.

Other developments after the Treaty enters into force will include the establishment of three new CTBTO organs: the Conference of States Parties, the Executive Council and the Technical Secretariat.

Next chapter: Conference of the States Parties