What is the Article XIV Conference?

Why is this conference important?

It is a high level conference. Foreign ministers from among 183 countries that have already signed or ratified the
Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) gather to call upon remaining countries to do so without delay. They also agree on a number of steps to promote the Treaty’s entry into force in the next couple of years.


Why is it called the Article XIV conference?

Its official name is the Conference on Facilitating the Entry into Force of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty. The conference is named after Article XIV of the CTBT, which regulates the entry into force of the Treaty. The Treaty will enter into force 180 days after all required States have ratified it. 


When and where does the conference take place?

The 2015 conference will take place on 29 September 2015 at UN headquarters in New York, United States. The conference is held every two years. Previous conferences took place either in Vienna, Austria, or in New York, U.S.A., in 1999, 2001, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011 and 2013.


Who calls for the conference?

The UN Secretary-General is requested by a majority of ratifying States to convene the conference. As the depositary of the Treaty, the UN Secretary-General then sends a letter of invitation to all States to participate. When States have ratified the Treaty, they deposit their ratification documents, the so-called instruments for ratification, with the office of the UN Secretary-General at the UN Headquarters in New York.


Who chairs the conference?

The conference will be chaired by the Foreign Ministers of Japan and Kazakhstan, Fumio Kishida and Erlan Idrissov. Their countries will lead the process to promote the Treaty’s entry into force for the next two years until the next conference. Japan and Kazakhstan will take over the chairmanship from Hungary and Indonesia, which chaired the conference in 2013, and led the entry-into-force process until the conference in September 2015. Since 2007 it has always been two countries – one from the North and one from the South – co-chairing the process, symbolizing the global nature of the Treaty and its verification regime.


Who can participate?

All States can participate and address the conference, including ratifying States, signatory States and non-signatory States. Pakistan, a non-signatory State, participated in previous conferences. Inter-governmental and non-governmental organizations can attend as observers. The conference is open to the media.


What can be expected from the Article XIV conference?

Countries speaking in the debate are expected to urge signatory States and non-signatory States to sign and ratify the Treaty. Many are expected to stress the importance of the Treaty as a key element of the nuclear disarmament and non-proliferation regime and highlight the demonstrated effectiveness of the Treaty’s verification regime. Ratifying and signatory States will together issue a Final Declaration calling for the entry into force of the Treaty, proposing concrete steps to achieve this objective. At the 2013 conference, the Final Declaration was endorsed by around 100 States including the following Annex 2 States: China, Egypt, Iran, Israel and the United States.