South Africa

Annex 2 State*Yes
Signature Date24-SEP-1996
Ratification Date30-MAR-1999

Monitoring Facilities

LocationTypeTreaty CodeStatus
SutherlandAuxiliary Seismic StationAS099Certified
BoshofInfrasound StationIS47Certified
BoshofPrimary Seismic StationPS39Certified
Atomic Energy Corporation PelindabaRadionuclide LaboratoryRL14Planned
Cape TownRadionuclide StationRN62Planned
Cape TownNoble Gas SystemPlanned

Additional Information

Facility Agreement: In force (20 May 1999), see CTBTO press release

Workshops and seminars hosted (selection):

  • Regional Technical Training Programme for Station Operators and National Data Centre Technical Staff, 10 to 14 March 2008 in Pretoria
  • The Sub-Regional Workshop for States from Southern Africa in 2004.
  • Introductory Training Programme for Station Operators, December 1997 in Pretoria
  • International Monitoring System Introductory Training Programme, December 1997

South Africa was the 33rd State to ratify the CTBT, see CTBTO press release.

Country Profiles