Annex 2 State*Yes
Signature Date24-SEP-1996
Ratification Date15-JUL-1999

Monitoring Facilities

LocationTypeTreaty CodeStatus
SpitsbergenAuxiliary Seismic StationAS072Certified
Jan MayenAuxiliary Seismic StationAS073Certified
BardufossInfrasound StationIS37Certified
HamarPrimary Seismic StationPS27Certified
KarasjokPrimary Seismic StationPS28Certified
SpitsbergenRadionuclide StationRN49Certified
SpitsbergenNoble Gas SystemCertified

Additional Information

Facility Agreement: In force (10 June 2002)

Hosted Technical Training Programme Course for Seismic Station Operators from 26 to 30 October 1998.

Seismic station PS27 at Hamar was one of the first to be certified, see CTBTO press release.

Norway was the 41st State to ratify the CTBT, see CTBTO press release.

Featured station: auxiliary seismic station AS072, Spitsbergen


"A legally binding CTBT is one of the preconditions for achieving a world free of nuclear weapons. Norway has therefore on a number of occasions urged all remaining countries, whose ratification is necessary for entry into force, to ratify the CTBT, and has provided funding for activities to this end."
Foreign Minister Jonas Gahr Støre in CTBTO Spectrum 12 - article (PDF)

Country Profiles

Country Profiles