The CTBTO at the Disarmament Conference in Jeju, Korea

The Executive Secretary of the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO), Tibor Tóth, attended the Tenth UN-ROK Joint Conference on Disarmament and Non-proliferation Issues in Jeju, Republic of Korea, from 7 to 8 November 2011 as a keynote speaker.

The conference, which gathered experts from governments, international organizations, academic and research institutions and civil society, was hosted jointly by the Republic of Korea and the UN Office for Disarmament Affairs (see UN press release). A number of issues were addressed including the future of nuclear arms control and non-proliferation, the 2012 Seoul Nuclear Security Summit, and the nuclear programme of the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK). The conference has been held annually since 2001.

Video of UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon's message to the Jeju Conference

“More and more states in Asia shall be mastering the nuclear fuel cycle. The Comprehensive Nuclear-Test Ban Treaty [CTBT] provides the last and clearly visible barrier between the peacefuland military uses of nuclear technology. This legal line needs to be drawn clearly and irrevocably.”

During his visit, Tóth met with Foreign Minister Kim Sung-Hwan and other senior government officials. Topics discussed included the prospects of negotiations with the DPRK on its nuclear programme and the importance of preventing further nuclear testing as well as ways to further enhance the already strong cooperation between the Republic of Korea and the CTBTO. Tóth also met with the Chairman of the Nuclear Safety and Security Commission, Kang Chang-soon, and gave a lecture at the Seoul National University and an interview with Yonhap News.

Jeju Island, South Korea

“The two North Korean nuclear tests were two too many...but by comparison, before the adoption of the CTBT in 1996 there were 400 to 500 every decade.”

The Republic of Korea hosts a seismic monitoring station in Wonju, not far from its border with the DPRK. This monitoring station was among those that detected the 2006 and 2009 nuclear tests conducted by the DPRK.

Asia is of particular importance for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT), as five of the nine countries that have yet to sign and ratify before the CTBT can enter into force are from the region: China, the DPRK, India, Indonesia and Pakistan. The other four are Egypt, Iran, Israel and the United States.

Seismograms for the declared nuclear test and from an earlier earthquake, recorded at primary seismic station PS31 at Wonju, Republic of Korea.