Desmond Browne and Igor Ivanov receive Nunn-Lugar Award for nuclear security

At the 2015 Carnegie International Nuclear Policy Conference from 23 to 24 March 2015 in Washington, D.C., United States, Desmond Browne and Igor Ivanov, members of the CTBT Group of Eminent Persons (GEM) were honoured with the Nunn-Lugar Award.
This award was created in 2012 to “recognize individuals or institutions dedicated to advancing the cause of nuclear security.” Its first recipients in 2012 were U.S. Senator Richard Lugar and former U.S. Senator Sam Nunn.
On 24 March 2015, Browne and Ivanov published an article titled ‘From Nuclear Safety to Nuclear Security’ in which they argue for a new nuclear security culture to prevent non-state actors from acquiring nuclear materials. The article is available in 11 languages.
In his article ‘Rebooting Nuclear Security’ published in November 2014, CTBTO Executive Secretary Lassina Zerbo advocated a comprehensive approach to nuclear security which considers all threats in a holistic way.