Facility Agreement with Iceland enters into force

A Facility Agreement signed by Iceland and the CTBTO Preparatory Commission entered into force on 26 January 2006. The agreement was signed on 13 October 2005 by Mr Sveinn Björnsson, Permanent Representative of Iceland, on behalf of Iceland and by Mr Tibor Tóth, Executive Secretary of the CTBTO Preparatory Commission, on behalf of the Commission. The date of entry into force is in accordance with Article 22 of the Agreement which states that the Facility Agreement will enter into force on the day on which the CTBTO Preparatory Commission receives notification of Iceland that national requirements for the entry into force have been fulfilled. The Agreement regulates the conduct of activities in respect of auxiliary seismic station AS38 in Borgarnes and radionuclide station RN34 in Reykjavik. To date, the CTBTO Preparatory Commission has concluded 33 Facility Agreements, out of which 26 have entered into force and two are being provisionally applied.

Ambassador Sveinn Björnsson (left) and Mr. Tibor Tóth, Executive Secretary, concluded Facility Agreement between Iceland and the CTBTO Preparatory Commission on 13 October 2005.