2018: Ninth Ministerial Meeting of the Friends of the CTBT

New York, 27 September 2018

Two days after Thailand’s ratification of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) and the signing of the treaty by Tuvalu at the UN headquarters in New York, foreign ministers and other high-level representatives from Member States met at the United Nations headquarters in New York on 27 September 2018 to issue a joint call for the prompt entry into force of the (CTBT).

Click to watch the proceedings of the Ninth Ministerial Meeting

Video Message by the Secretary General of the United Nations

Allow me to reiterate what I have emphasized consistently: The path to the verifiable denuclearization of the Korean Peninsula runs through the CTBT. Any final agreement with the DPRK must include signature and ratification of the Treaty.

Lassina Zerbo, Executive Secretary of the CTBTO

The ninth Ministerial Meeting was organized by the Foreign Ministers of the “Friends of the CTBT” – Australia, Canada, Finland, Germany, Japan, Netherlands, in cooperation with Article XIV co-coordinators Iraq and Belgium.
The Treaty embodies one of the most concrete and practical measures of nuclear disarmament and non-proliferation, equipped with a robust verification regime.

Japanese Foreign Minister Taro Kono opened the meeting followed by a video message from the United Nations Secretary-General António Guterres. CTBTO Executive Secretary Lassina Zerbo addressed the meeting and thanked the Governments of Thailand and Tuvalu for their “support and resolve, which has strengthened global efforts to achieve a nuclear-test-free world”.

North Korea’s accession to the Treaty could create the conditions for a solution of the Korean issue, and represent a decisive step towards the full, verifiable and irreversible de-nuclearisation of the Korean peninsula.

Senator The Hon Marise Payne, Minister of Foreign Affairs for Australia, Co-Chair

H.E. Federica Mogherini, High Representative of the European Union / Group of Eminent Persons (GEM)

As current coordinator of the article XIV process, together with Iraq, I have made it my endeavor to not limit our outreach to governments only. I therefore welcome the presence here today of a representative of the CTBT Youth...The younger generation has a stake in a future without nuclear tests, and hopefully one day, a world without nuclear weapons. Indeed, if we cannot ban nuclear tests, how could we ever ban nuclear weapons?

Jaona Andriamampandry, CTBTO Youth Group member

Ninth Friends of the CTBTO Ministerial Meeting Video

CTBT Ministerial Meeting - Thursday, 27 Sept. 2018

  State/Chair Speaker
1 Welcome and Introduction  
  Opening video on the CTBT International Monitoring System (IMS)
  Japan, Co-Chair
H.E. Taro Kono,
Minister for Foreign Affairs
  Executive Secretary of the CTBTO
Dr Lassina Zerbo
2 Verification Regime  
H.E. Timo Soini,
Minister for Foreign Affairs
  Germany Ambassador Jürgen Schulz,
Deputy Permanent Representative of the Federal Republic of Germany to the United Nations
3 Entry into Force of the Treaty/Universalization  
  Iraq H.E. Dr Ibrahim Aljafari,
Minister of Foreign Affairs, Article XIV co-coordinator
  The Netherlands
H.E. Stef Blok,
Minister for Foreign Affairs
  The Kingdom of Thailand H.E. Virasakdi Futrakul,
Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs
H.E. Didier Reynders,
Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs and European Affairs, Article XIV co-coordinator
  European Union
H.E. Federica Mogherini,
High Representative of the European Union / Group of Eminent Persons (GEM)
  CTBTO Youth Group
Jaona Andriamampandry,
CTBTO Youth Group member
4 Adoption of the Joint Statement and closing statement  
Senator The Hon Marise Payne,
Minister of Foreign Affairs for Australia, Co-Chair