Algeria's ratification brings the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty closer to entry into force


The Permanent Representative of Algeria, H.E. Ms Taous Feroukhi, today made a courtesy visit to the Executive Secretary of the CTBTO Preparatory Commission, Mr Wolfgang Hoffmann, to mark Algeria's ratification of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) on 11 July 2003.  Algeria's ratification marks an important step forwards, as Algeria is one of the 44 States listed in Annex 2 to the CTBT which must sign and ratify the Treaty before it can enter into force.  Algeria's ratification is an encouraging signal of support as the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization prepares for the Conference on Facilitating the Entry into Force of the CTBT, which will take place in Vienna from 3 to 5 September 2003.  Algeria deposited its instrument of ratification with the United Nations Secretary-General in his capacity as Depositary of the Treaty.  It is the 32nd Annex 2 State to have ratified the Treaty.  Algeria's ratification also brings the total of ratifications in the Africa geographical region to 18, and the overall total of ratifications worldwide to 103. The 32 Annex 2 States which have signed and ratified the Treaty are Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bulgaria, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Mexico, the Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Poland, Romania, the Russian Federation, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine and the United Kingdom.  Nine further Annex 2 States have signed the Treaty but not ratified it, these are Egypt, China, Colombia, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Israel, the United States of America and Viet Nam.  The remaining three Annex 2 States which have neither signed nor ratified the treaty are India, the Democratic People's Republic of Korea and Pakistan.  The Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty bans any nuclear weapon test explosion or any other nuclear explosion in any environment. Drafted at the Conference on Disarmament in Geneva and adopted by the UN General Assembly on 10 September 1996, the Treaty was opened for signature on 24 September 1996 at the United Nations in New York. For the CTBT to enter into force it needs to be ratified by the 44 States listed in its Annex 2.  These States formally participated in the 1996 Conference on Disarmament and possess nuclear power or research reactors.
Jointly released with the Permanent Mission of the People's Democratic Republic of Algeria to the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization

For further information on the CTBTO, please see or contact:
Annika Thunborg, Chief, Public Information  
T    +43 1 26030-6375  
E    [email protected]
M    +43 699 1459 6375