Finland ratifies Comprehensive
Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty

Finland deposited its instrument of ratification of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) with the Secretary-General of the United Nations on 15 January 1999. Finland is the twenty-seventh signatory State to have ratified the Treaty and is one of the 44 countries listed in the Treaty whose ratification is necessary for its entry into force. Finland has one primary seismic station at Lahti, and one radionuclide laboratory in Helsinki that will be part of the international monitoring system. The Lahti station is a modern seismic array that has been sending data to the prototype International Data Center in Arlington, United States, for several years. It is ready for certification and a team from the PTS is currently in Finland carrying out a certification inspection. The Finnish Radiation Reasearch Centre in Helsinki recently hosted a workshop, which considered the role of the radionuclide laboratories in the global verification system. Under the CTBT, an international monitoring system of 321 stations, using four complementary technologies, is being established to record data necessary to verify compliance with the Treaty. The stations will be capable of registering vibrations from a nuclear explosion underground, in the seas and in the air, as well as detecting radioactive debris released into the atmosphere. The monitoring stations will transmit, via satellite, the data to the International Data Centre (IDC) within CTBTO PrepCom in Vienna, where the data will be used to detect, locate and characterize events. These data and other IDC products will be made available to the signatory States for final analysis. The 26 other States that have ratified the Treaty are: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, El Salvador, Fiji, France, Germany, Grenada, Japan, Jordan, Micronesia (Federated States of), Monaco, Mongolia, Peru, Qatar, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and Uzbekistan. To date, 152 States have signed the Treaty. The Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty bans any nuclear weapon test explosion or any other nuclear explosion anywhere in the world. Drafted at the Conference on Disarmament in Geneva and adopted by the General Assembly on 10 September 1996, the Treaty was opened for signature on 24 September 1996 at the United Nations in New York.

For further information on the CTBTO, please see or contact:
Annika Thunborg, Chief, Public Information  
T    +43 1 26030-6375  
E    [email protected]
M    +43 699 1459 6375