Kiribati and Maldives ratify Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty at United Nations Millennium Summit

At the start of the new millennium, the world has come another step closer to a complete ban on nuclear-weapons testing. Yesterday, Kiribati and Maldives deposited their instruments of ratification of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT). To enter into force the Treaty has to be signed and ratified by the 44 States that formally participated in the work of the 1996 session of the Conference on Disarmament and that possess nuclear power and research reactors, as listed in the Treaty. So far, 157 States have signed the Treaty and 62 have deposited their instruments of ratification, of which 30 are States whose signature and ratification are necessary for the Treaty to enter into force. The instruments were deposited at the Millennium Summit, which Heads of State and Government are attending at United Nations Headquarters. During the Summit, 25 core multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General - including the CTBT - are open for signature and ratification as part of an initiative to promote participation in vital international instruments. The CTBT prohibits all nuclear weapon test explosions and any other nuclear explosion anywhere in the world. Drafted in the Conference on Disarmament in Geneva, and adopted by the General Assembly on 10 September 1996, the Treaty was opened for signature on 24 September 1996 at the United Nations New York. ********* The 62 States that have deposited their instruments of ratification of the CTBT are: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Grenada, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kiribati, Lesotho, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Maldives, Mali, Mexico, Micronesia (Federated States of), Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Senegal, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and Uzbekistan.

For further information on the CTBTO, please see or contact:
Annika Thunborg, Chief, Public Information  
T    +43 1 26030-6375  
E    [email protected]
M    +43 699 1459 6375