Nigeria, Nauru and Sierra Leone sign Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty at United Nations Millennium Summit

Nigeria, Nauru and Sierra Leone have become the latest signatories of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT), increasing the number of signatures to 160. To enter into force the Treaty has to be signed and ratified by the 44 States that formally participated in the work of the 1996 session of the Conference on Disarmament and that possess nuclear power and research reactors, as listed in the Treaty. So far, 62 States have deposited their instruments of ratification of the CTBT, of which 30 are States whose signature and ratification are necessary for the Treaty to enter into force. The Treaty was signed at the Millennium Summit, which Heads of State or Government attended at the United Nations Headquarters between 6 and 8 September 2000. During the Summit, 25 core multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General - including the CTBT - were open for signature and ratification as part of an initiative to promote participation in vital international instruments. The CTBT prohibits all nuclear weapon test explosions and any other nuclear explosion anywhere in the world. Drafted at the Conference on Disarmament in Geneva, and adopted by the General Assembly on 10 September 1996, the Treaty was opened for signature on 24 September 1996 at the United Nations New York. ********* The 62 States that have deposited their instruments of ratification of the CTBT are: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Grenada, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kiribati, Lesotho, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Maldives, Mali, Mexico, Micronesia (Federated States of), Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Senegal, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and Uzbekistan.

For further information on the CTBTO, please see or contact:
Annika Thunborg, Chief, Public Information  
T    +43 1 26030-6375  
E    [email protected]
M    +43 699 1459 6375