Non-Aligned Movement Conference
stresses importance of
Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban


The Thirteenth Conference of Heads of State or Government of the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) has closed with the approval of a Final Document which strongly supports the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT). The Conference, which was held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, from 24 to 25 February 2003, brought together representatives from the 116 NAM Member States. NAM Member States agreed to a set of actions, captured in the Final Document, to promote peace, security, justice, equality, democracy and development in accordance with the Charter of the United Nations and international law. Chapter I of the Final Document deals with Global Issues. Paragraph 79, under the section headed Disarmament and International Security, repeats NAM?s long-standing position for the total elimination of all nuclear testing, and refers specifically to the CTBT. The paragraph reads: "The Heads of State or Government reiterated the Movement?s long-standing principled position for the total elimination of all nuclear testing. They stressed the significance of achieving universal adherence to the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT), including by all the Nuclear Weapons States, which, inter alia, should contribute to the process of nuclear disarmament. They expressed their satisfaction that 166 States have signed the Treaty and 97 States have ratified it thus far. They reiterated that if the objectives of the Treaty were to be fully realised, the continued commitment of all States signatories, especially the Nuclear Weapon States, to nuclear disarmament would be essential." The Conference of Heads of State or Government of the Non-Aligned Movement is NAM?s highest decision-making authority, and its decisions are action-oriented. The focus of deliberations is on political issues, including the advocacy of solutions to global economic and other problems. The Conference meets every three years The CTBT bans any nuclear weapons test explosion in any environment. Drafted at the Conference on Disarmament in Geneva, and adopted by the United Nations General Assembly on 10 September 1996, the Treaty was opened for signature on 24 September 1996 at the United Nations headquarters in New York. The Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization was established on 19 November 1996. The headquarters of the Preparatory Commission and its Secretariat are based in Vienna.

For further information on the CTBTO, please see or contact:
Annika Thunborg, Chief, Public Information  
T    +43 1 26030-6375  
E    [email protected]
M    +43 699 1459 6375