Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive
Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization launches
new web site

The Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO PrepCom) has launched its new public web site. The web site, which can be found at, aims to provide accurate, appropriate and timely information about the Preparatory Commission s mandate and activities to the general public and special interest groups, within a user-friendly and easily accessible structure. New features on the web site include a revamped homepage, which provides readers with current Treaty Status at a glance, together with facts about nuclear testing and brief news items from the Organization. The homepage is designed with the look and feel of a newsletter, and will be updated regularly. Another new section on the site is devoted to the Verification Regime. Here, readers can find information about the Information Monitoring System and the International Data Centre, together with details of the four verification technologies used (seismic, hydroacoustic, infrasound and radionuclide). This section also gives details of where monitoring stations are located around the globe. Other features include a Press Centre and an area with information on forthcoming conferences. The site also posts official documents and gives details of employment opportunities. ******************************************** The CTBT bans any nuclear weapon test explosion or any other nuclear explosion anywhere in the world. Drafted at the Conference on Disarmament in Geneva, and adopted by the United Nations General Assembly on 10 September 1996, the Treaty was opened for signature on 24 September 1996 at the United Nations Headquarters in New York. The Treaty has been signed by 160 States to date. The 76 States that have ratified the CTBT so far are: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belgium, Benin, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Germany, Greece, Grenada, Guyana, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Lao People?s Democratic Republic, Lesotho, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Maldives, Mali, Mexico, Micronesia (Federated States of), Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Saint Lucia, Senegal, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Ukraine and Uzbekistan.

For further information on the CTBTO, please see or contact:
Annika Thunborg, Chief, Public Information  
T    +43 1 26030-6375  
E    [email protected]
M    +43 699 1459 6375