San Marino ratifies Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty

San Marino has deposited its instrument of ratification of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) with the Secretary-General of the United Nations on 12 March 2002, bringing the total number of ratifications to 90. San Marino is the 24th State in the North America and Western Europe geographical region to ratify the Treaty.

The CTBT bans any nuclear weapon test explosion or any other nuclear explosion in any environment. Drafted at the Conference on Disarmament in Geneva, and adopted by the United Nations General Assembly on 10 September 1996, the Treaty was opened for signature on 24 September 1996 at United Nations Headquarters in New York. For the CTBT to enter into force, a further 13 of the 44 nuclear-capable States listed in the Treaty must ratify it. Under the Treaty, States Signatories undertake to promote cooperation among themselves to facilitate and participate in the fullest possible exchange relating to technologies used in its verification. This cooperation enables States Signatories to strengthen national implementation of verification measures and to benefit from the application of such technologies for civil and scientific purposes.

The verification regime stipulated in the Treaty provides a comprehensive set of information about the Earth and its seas and atmosphere, using state-of-the-art seismology, hydroacoustic, infrasound and radionuclide technologies. The Preparatory Commission organizes a range of international cooperation activities such as workshops and training programmes, and coordinates technical cooperation and assistance programmes among States Signatories. These programmes advance Treaty understanding and the establishment of the verification regime, and can contribute to the enhancement of national capacity in verification related technical areas.

The 90 States that have deposited their instruments of ratification of the CTBT are: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belgium, Benin, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Germany, Greece, Grenada, Guyana, Holy See, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Latvia, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Lesotho, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Mexico, Micronesia (Federated States of), Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Saint Lucia, San Marino, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Uruguay and Uzbekistan.

For further information on the CTBTO, please see or contact: 
Annika Thunborg
Chief, Public Information   
T    +43 1 26030-6375  
E    [email protected]
M    +43 699 1459 6375