Viet Nam becomes the
thirty-fourth Annex 2 State
to ratify the Comprehensive
Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty


Viet Nam has deposited its instrument of ratification with the United Nations Secretary-General, Kofi Annan, in his capacity as Depositary of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT), on 10 March 2006.  The ratification by Viet Nam signifies an important step forwards, as Viet Nam is one of the 44 States listed in Annex 2 of the Treaty whose signature and ratification is necessary for the entry into force of the CTBT.  Viet Nam's ratification brings the total number of ratifications in South East Asia, the Pacific and the Far East geographical region to 17 and worldwide to 132.  The CTBT bans any nuclear weapons test explosions or any other nuclear explosions.  Drafted at the Conference on Disarmament in Geneva and adopted by the General Assembly on 10 September 1996, the Treaty was opened for signature on 24 September 1996 at the United Nations headquarters in New York.
176 States have signed the Treaty to date. To enter into force, the CTBT must be signed and ratified by the 44 States listed in Annex 2 of the Treaty. These States formally participated in the work of the 1996 session of the Conference on Disarmament and possessed nuclear power or research reactors at that time.  The 34 Annex 2 States which have signed and ratified the Treaty are Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bulgaria, Brazil, Canada, Chile, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Mexico, the Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Poland, Romania, the Russian Federation, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, the United Kingdom and Viet Nam.  The other Annex 2 States which have signed but not ratified the Treaty are Egypt, China, Colombia, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Israel and the United States of America.  The remaining three Annex 2 States which have neither signed nor ratified the Treaty are India, the Democratic People?s Republic of Korea and Pakistan.

For further information on the CTBTO, please see or contact:
Annika Thunborg, Chief, Public Information  
T    +43 1 26030-6375  
E    [email protected]
M    +43 699 1459 6375