Treaty Text

Click for PDF version of the full Treaty text.

The full text of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) is available in PDF and HTML.

Arabic | ChineseFrench | Russian | Spanish

The CTBT bans all nuclear explosions on Earth whether for military or for peaceful purposes.

It comprises a preamble, 17 articles, two annexes and a Protocol with two annexes.

Another important text is the Resolution adopted by the States Signatories on 19 November 1996, establishing the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO).


The preamble outlines the significance of the Treaty as an important nuclear non-proliferation and disarmament measure.

Article I stipulates the basic obligations of the Treaty. It prohibits States Parties from carrying out any nuclear explosion. It also prohibits any encouragement of or participation in the carrying out of any nuclear explosion.

Article II provides for the establishment of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization in Vienna to ensure the Treaty's implementation as well as providing a forum for consultation and cooperation.

Article III focuses on national implementation measures.

Click image for animation of the global verification regime.

Article IV elaborates on the global verification regime to monitor compliance with Treaty provisions. The regime is to comprise a global network of monitoring stations (the International Monitoring System), an International Data Centre in Vienna, a consultation and clarification process, On-site Inspections, and confidence-building measures.

Article V outlines measures to redress a situation which contravenes the CTBT provisions and to ensure compliance with the Treaty.

Article VI deals with the settlement of disputes that may arise concerning the application or the interpretation of the Treaty.

Article VII is concerned with amendments to the Treaty.

Article VIII stipulates when a review of the Treaty will take place after its entry into force.

Article IX states that the Treaty is of unlimited duration.

Article X deals with the status of the Protocol and the annexes.

Article XI is concerned with signature of the Treaty.

Article XII deals with ratification of the Treaty.

Article XIII is about accession to the Treaty.

Article XIV is about the Treaty's entry into force. This will take place 180 days after the 44 States listed in Annex 2 to the Treaty have all ratified.

Article XV specifies that the Treaty shall not be subject to reservations.

Article XVI refers to the Depositary of the Treaty.

Article XVII deals with the authenticity of Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish Treaty texts.

Less than ten States listed in Annex 2 have yet to ratify for entry into force - click image for interactive map.

Annex 1 to the Treaty lists States by geographical regions for the purposes of elections to the Executive Council.

Annex 2 to the Treaty lists the 44 States (click here or image for interactive map) that must ratify the Treaty for it to enter into force.

Protocol Part I
 describes the functions of the International Monitoring System (IMS) and the International Data Centre (IDC).

Protocol Part II sets up the procedures for on-site inspections.

Protocol Part III deals with confidence-building measures.

Annex 1 to the Protocol lists the facilities comprising the IMS network.

Annex 2 to the Protocol lists the characterization parameters for IDC standard event screening.