Rob Floyd elected as next CTBTO Executive Secretary

Dr Robert Floyd of Australia has been elected by Member States as the next Executive Secretary of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO).

A scientist with extensive leadership, management and diplomatic experience, since 2010 Floyd has been the Director-General of the Australian Safeguards and Non-Proliferation Office (ASNO), Australia’s national authority for implementing various treaties to control weapons of mass destruction including the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT).

ASNO oversees operation of Australia's 23 facilities in the CTBT’s International Monitoring System (IMS) to detect nuclear explosions – the third largest number of any country.

He will succeed Dr Lassina Zerbo, of Burkina Faso, who has been instrumental in cementing the CTBTO’s position as the world’s centre of excellence for nuclear test-ban verification, as well as in driving forward efforts towards the entry into force and universalization of the CTBT. Zerbo’s second term at the helm of the CTBTO ends on 31 July 2021.

Floyd will be the CTBTO’s fourth Executive Secretary, after Zerbo (2013-2021), Ambassador Tibor Tóth of Hungary (2005-2013) and Dr Wolfgang Hoffmann of Germany (1997-2005).

Read his official curriculum vitae here.

Dr Robert Floyd